Aurora, a network of European universities

Launched in 2016, the Aurora network aims to develop joint activities in terms of teaching, research and governance. It brings together European universities that share a common ambition to make a strong commitment to social responsibility.

Member universities

The nine institutions that make up the Aurora network are:
  • Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (the Netherlands)
  • Université Grenoble Alpes (France)
  • University of Aberdeen (Scotland)
  • University of Antwerp (Belgium)
  • University of Iceland
  • University of Duisberg-Essen (Germany)
  • University of East Anglia (England)
  • University of Innsbruck (Germany)
  • University of Rovira i Virgili (Spain)

These Aurora members are amongst the leaders in the field of higher education and research; they are in the top 250 of the Times Higher Education ranking. An Elsevier* report has demonstrated that the Aurora network performs better, in terms of the quality and impact of its research, than other well-established networks such as LERU, Coimbra, UNICA or even Universitas 21.

Activities of the Aurora network

The Aurora network meets twice a year plenary sessions that bring together members from all partner universities, to allow teams of presidents and chancellors to fine-tune the network’s strategy and to coordinate progress made on the projects being performed by various groups and workshops on the following themes:
  • Innovation in teaching and learning
  • Societal impact of research
  • Sustainable development
  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Student engagement

*Elsevier is a provider of information system solutions that aim to improve the performance of professionals in the fields of health, science and technology.
Updated on  April 16, 2021